Studio Update: New Work

June 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

June 13 – June 20, 2010

Grace Willard | Winter Ambrosia | Mixed Media | 2010

Grace Willard | Winter Ambrosia | Mixed Media | 2010

This  week: I’ve been regrouping the troops to get started on the next big thing. Coming down the line is my upcoming group show Postcards From the EDGE at Collective Visions Gallery in Bremerton, WA scheduled to open in August.

Next Week: With any luck I’ll be receiving my moleskin from the good folks at the Sketch Book Project.  So far over 3,470 people have signed up to be part of the touring exhibition of sketchbooks.  Artists are asked to select a theme; I’ve chosen “First Thing in the Morning, Last thing at Night”.  I’m hoping to focus on the magic of the hours between dawn when the world is quiet and nature unmasks herself – and all of the lovely creepy crawlies come out!  I’m expecting to do a lot of drawing from observation this summer (field trips!).  Art House Co-op also just announced that Seattle will be one of the stops on the tour in 2011.

Coming Up: I’ve just scheduled a studio day with good friend Shelly in July at NW Encaustics.  I’m really looking forward with incorporating the rich textures and colors of encaustic into my work.  I’ve been creating papier mache frames for my embroideried work for the past year or so, but haven’t been satisfied with the plastic texture of acrylic paint.  I’ll keep you posted!

In other news: I earned my orange belt in kajukenbo!  Friend me on Face Book or click here for awesome photos!  The piece above was inspired in part by my kung fu training  – our kwoon has a beautiful persimmon tree that is a feast for the eyes come December.

Shout Out: To all of the amazing women at 7 Star Women’s Kungfu – thank you!

❤ Grace Willard

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Studio Update: New Work at Grace Willard.

meta

