Professional Artist: Grants for Artist Projects

July 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

Lovely mahonia tree and white tailed deer

Morning at Centrum - 2009

Decaying buildings in Fort Worden - 2009

Decaying buildings in Fort Worden - 2009

This week I wanted to share my proposal for the Grants for Artist Projects.  Last summer (2009) I had the honor and privilege of serving as an intern at Artist Trust.  As part of my internship I worked as a volunteer coordinator for the first cycle of the EDGE program, a one week residency in professionalism & business for artists.

I spent a week at in the beautiful coastal town of Port Townsend, WA and had an amazing experience that is one of the highlights of my career as an emerging artist. Its my dream to return there for a week next summer to focus on my artwork.

This is the second year I’ve applied for the GAP – winners will be announced some time in October.  Wish me luck!

As always, thanks for reading.

*Update:  While I wasn’t a winner this year I’d like to extend my congratulations to  the  62 winners of the GAP – nearly 800 artists applied! Look for a new project next year!

❤ Grace Willard

Another view of Centrum - 2009

Another view of Centrum - 2009

Reclaimed by Nature – A Residency at Centrum

I am proposing a one week residency at Centrum located in historic Fort Worden (Port Townsend, WA).  During my stay I plan to develop a series of sketches, collages, and photographs that will be translated into original artwork at my Seattle studio.

I specifically would like to complete a residency within Fort Worden because of its unique ecology.  Built in 1897 and decommissioned in 1953, Fort Worden is now an example of how human development is slowly reclaimed by nature.  Its 434 acres and 2 miles of shoreline make it an ideal location to study a variety of plants and animals.

Additionally my residency would give me the unique opportunity to work with the nearby Port Townsend Marine Science Center where I could study invertebrate marine life up close.

I am also requesting funding for a digital projector.  Having this piece of equipment would allow me to make my work more accessible through lectures and teaching.

Upon my return to Seattle I hope to facilitate a series of lectures,workshops, and panel discussions surrounding the issue of preserving the environment through protecting undeveloped areas and naturalizing vacant spaces.

Although I currently hold two jobs and an internship, I won’t be able to afford this residency without additional financial support.  As an emerging artist, I feel this residency would give me with the opportunity to develop my work to the next level and provide me with the means to begin engaging creativity as a means of activism.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Professional Artist: Grants for Artist Projects at Grace Willard.

meta

