Paper Mache: Works in Progress

August 9, 2010 § Leave a comment

Paper Mache Shells

Paper Mache Shells

I’m happy to share what I’ve been working on in the past month – these paper mache shells!  These pieces have been lovingly coated in several layer of paper and glue and primed with acrylic paint. These shapes are a combination of corrugated plastic , foam core, and water color paper.

I’ve spent the past few weeks studying polyhedral shapes and geometry and have a lot of fun learning more about math.  I’ve also been learning more about pattern/shape and some new fiber art techniques.

Before these shapes can be painted in color and covered in fabric I’ll need to develop a full set of patterns.  So I’ll spend the next few weeks drawing the plants and animals that will be embroidered in addition to deciding which colors/fabrics to use.

You can view completed works using this technique here.

Summer is always a busy time so I’m sad to say I haven’t been able to spend as much time in my studio as I’d like to.  Lets just say I’m looking forwards to fall!

As always, thanks for reading!

❤ Grace Willard

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Paper Mache: Works in Progress at Grace Willard.

meta

