Summer in Seattle

August 24, 2010 § Leave a comment


Golden Plums

Golden Plums

It’s pretty rare I have a day to myself. You know the type that start with unscheduled extra time in bed, breakfast over LOL Cats, a nice long walk in no hurry to no where in particular.

Many neglected fruit trees in the my neighborhood have been shedding fruit in the summer heat.  Its been too warm to can anything, so I’ve been collecting these bite sized beauties  to eat out of hand and freeze to make jam at a later date. Its always wonderful to have the time to play around and make something unexpectedly lovely out of the something completely ordinary.

 

Honey Bees

Honey Bees

I had the good fortune to be kind to my neighbors and help them around the house while they were out of town.  The ladies pictured are always busy when I visit but they are an excellent reminder that the fruits of our labors can be very sweet!  They are so gorgeous working the flowers, taking in the summer sun and swarming around the yard.

Roof Top

Roof Top

The summer sky in Seattle is gorgeous in a way that makes you forget about the steel gray it wears for the rest of the year.  I think I’ll keep this picture handy come January!

I wonder what type of plant has grown and died on top of my friend’s roof? What ever it is, it make the roof top look like a miniature forest!

 

Little Red Hen

Little Red Hen

Both of my friends have acquired some friendly feathered friends.  I was happy to look after them; we spent the morning eating cantaloupe and relaxing in the shade. This little red hen laid some excellent eggs which made for a tasty lunch.

Everybody could use a day off.  It was nice to take a little time off before getting started on the next big project (stay tuned for upcoming news)!

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look!

❤ Grace Willard

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer in Seattle at Grace Willard.

meta

